IPL 2021 will be delayed for at least 2 weeks with respect to the previous season

IPL 2021 will be delayed for at least 2 weeks with respect to the previous season.

IPL 2021: The fourteenth season of the Indian T20 League is confirmed to get delayed for at least two weeks. The last time IPL was played in India in 2019 and it started on 23rd March, however, this time it will not be possible to carry out IPL on the same timeline.

Taking into consideration the England tour 2021 and other domestic tournaments taking place, it is likely to get delayed.

IPL 2021 Delay

The Board of Control for Cricket in India recently announced the schedule for the England tour to India in 2021. India and England are scheduled to play four test games, five Twenty20 games, and three ODIs in the course of two months.

The series is going to be hectic as the number of matches is very high in number in less time. The first game of the tour will be played on February 5 in Chennai. However, after two test games both the teams will head towards Ahmedabad for the next two Test games and five T20Is.

The series will end on March 28 with the third ODI at Pune.

After a long and exhausting series of two months, the Indian players will be given enough rest to manage to workload. It is expected that the IPL might begin from the second week of April.

In the meantime, other than international cricket, the domestic circuit will also take place. Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy is scheduled to begin on January 10.

However, BCCI might be keen on conducting Vijay Hazare Trophy after SMAT 2021. Conducting a Vijay Hazare Trophy will give more room to the scouting teams of IPL.

IPL 2021 New Team/Franchise:

It is almost clear that Ahmedabad will most probably be the new franchise. The recent actions of BCCI to conduct more games at Ahmedabad’s Motera Stadium strengthens the statement more.

However, the introduction will depend on BCCI Annual General Meeting which will be conducted on 24th December.

If the party decides to egress more than one team, Pune/Lucknow/Kanpur will be on the list.

ALSO READ: ICC Men’s Test Ranking, Batsmen Ranking, Bowlers and All-Rounders
Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy (SMAT) 2021 Dates Revealed, SMAT 2021 Fixtures and Dates