India vs England Test Series: If bio-bubble becomes overbearing, no shame in saying that: Jofra Archer

India vs England Test Series: England announced the squad for first two test games, Jofra Archer and Ben Stokes returns.

India vs England Test Series: Dashing all-rounder Ben Stokes and pacer Jofra Archer are back to the England test squad for the first two tests against India. England Cricket Board on Thursday announced the 16-men strong squad against India for the first two test games to be held in Chennai.

The English selection panel also announced the six reserve players who will be travelling with the team for the first and second test against India.

Jofra Archer and Ben Stokes who were rested for the ongoing two games Sri Lanka tour are included in the squad. While Rory Burns who was granted paternity leave is also back with the England squad for India series.

Joe Root will lead the side for the test games while Eoin Morgan will be the captain for the shorter format.

Ollie Pope who sustained a shoulder injury during the Pakistan series will also travel with the squad. He will have to prove himself fit before getting into the final playing 11. Pope will be further assessed by the England medical team.

Bairstow, Curran and Wood rested:

Jonathan Bairstow, all-rounder Sam Curran and Mark Wood have been rested for the first two test matches. All the three players are active in ongoing England vs Sri Lanka test match at Galle.

“This is consistent with the selection policy of finding a block of rest for all multi-format players at some point during post-Christmas winter schedule,” the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) said in a release.

With Archer and Stokes return to the squad and subject to the fitness of rest of the squad, Craig Overton will head back to England after the Sri Lanka series.

England Test Squad for the first two tests against India: 

 Joe Root, Zak Crawley, Moeen Ali, Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, James Anderson, Dom Bess, Jofra Archer, Stuart Broad, Jos Buttler, Ben Foakes, Ben Stokes, Olly Stone, Rory Burns, Chris Woakes.

ALSO READ: IPL 2021: Purse Value left with each IPL Franchise after full player retention and release
IPL 2021: Sanju Samson named as the new captain of Rajasthan Royals