India vs England T20I: India’s squad for five-match T20I series against England

India vs England T20I: India’s squad for five-match T20I series against England.

India vs England T20I: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Saturday announced the Indian squad for the five-match T20I series against England. IPL stars Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan and Rahul Tewatia have earned a maiden call-up for the national T20 side.

All the three players had performed tremendously in the previous edition IPL due to which the selectors have rewarded them the Indian T20I slot. The two former players played a key role for Mumbai Indians and win the game while the latter proved his worth playing for Rajasthan Royals.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant, all-rounder Axar Patel and pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar are also in the squad for the T20Is against England, starting next month.

The series will begin on 12th March and the selectors have picked up new domestic faces in order to test them ahead of the ICC T20 World Cup which is slated later this year.

Fans and the commentators were really disappointed with the selectors for not picking Suryakumar Yadav in the Australian tour but his long wait has ended and he will wear India’s blue jersey in the upcoming T20I series.

Ishan Kishan had the best IPL season so far in his career. The left-handed batsman emerged as the highest run-getter for the defending champions and played some crucial knocks. 

Kishan also showed his performance in the ongoing Vijay Hazare Trophy. He slammed massive 173 runs in 94 balls playing for Jharkhand and thrashed Madhya Pradesh easily in the tournament opener.

While Rahul Tewatia stole the limelight in the match against Kings XI Punjab where he pulled off a blinder for his side smacking West Indies bowler Sheldon Cottrell five sixes in an over. The over turned the tables and Rajasthan Royals won the impossible-looking game in IPL 2020.

Chinaman bowler Kuldeep Yadav has been dropped along with wicketkeeper-batsman Sanju Samson and Manish Pandey. While the Indian pace spearhead Jasprit Bumrah has been rested to manage the work-load.

Mohammad Shami and Ravindra Jadeja are not included in the 19 men-squad due to failure in recovery from the injuries.

India’s squad for five-match T20I series against England:

Squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Washington Sundar, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Varun Chakravarthy, Axar Patel, Shikhar Dhawan, Rahul Tewatia, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Navdeep Saini, T Natarajan and Shardul Thakur.