Monday, July 22, 2024

IND vs ZIM: 2 Changes INDIA Might Make for IND vs ZIM 2nd T20I; Best Playing11 of India | India vs Zimbabwe 2nd T20I


IND vs ZIM 2nd T20I: India have lost the first T20I of the five-match series and Zimbabwe has pushed back the World Champions 1-down in the opening match of the series. Here are the 2 possible changes that India might make for IND vs ZIM 2nd T20I.

India posted a mediocre batting display on 6th July at Harare Sports Club, Harare. They would have been happy to see just 116 on the board but Zimbabwe assured that it was enough for them to seal the deal.

Three players got to wear the Indian cap for the first time in the opening match of the series- IPL star Abhishek Sharma, Riyan Parag and Dhruv Jurel. All three had a debut not to remember.

Raza Stars as Zimbabwe Upset India In 1st T20I by 13 Runs | IND vs ZIM 1st T20I
Raza celebrating Gill’s wicket (Associate Press)

India bowled first and apart from Khaleel Ahmed who went expensive and wicketless, all the bowlers were up to the mark. Bishnoi took 4 men down, Washington was economical and got 2 wickets and other bowlers contributed too to restrict the home team under 115.

The chase started horribly as India lost their four wickets inside the batting powerplay with just 22 runs on the board. Shubman Gill(31), Washington Sunder (27) and Avesh Khan (16) were the only three batters to cross the 10-run mark.

Bowling was up to the mark but it was batting that let the Indian team down. There is a window for a couple of changes that can bring up the balance in the playing 11 of India.

Let’s have a look at the 2 possible changes that India might make for IND vs ZIM 2nd T20I:

2 Changes INDIA Might Make for IND vs ZIM 2nd T20I

1- Sai Sudharsan IN, Abhishek Sharma OUT

Abhishek Sharma is, no doubt, an excellent player top of the order and he is one of the best aggressive batters at the opening spot but the Indian team has an experienced option against him and that is Sai Sudharsan.

Sai has played for India in a 50-over game and he has delivered some great performances. Abhishek Sharma is, nevertheless, more lethal than Sai but the pitches there in Harare are a bit tacky and tricky so Sai would be a better option to bat.

2- Jitesh Sharma IN, Dhruv Jurel OUT

With almost a similar sort of skill set, the two wicketkeeper-batters Jitesh Sharma and Dhruv Jurel are having a bout for the wicketkeeping spot. Dhruv Jurel is a batter with better techniques but Jitesh Sharma’s game is by power.

At the number where these players are going to get chance to bat, most of the time, you need a power hitter and in that case, Jitesh is a better option than Dhruv.

INDIA’s likely Playing 11 for IND vs ZIM 2nd T20I

Shubman Gill (c), Sai Sudharsan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Riyan Parag, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma(wk), Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed

READ: ICC T20I Player Rankings; Hardik Pandya ON THE TOP! Batting, Bowling and All-Rounder Full Standings

Bookmarked post
Rahul Chaube
Rahul Chaube
Rahul, news editor and author at ICC Cricket Schedule, offers timely updates and engaging analysis, enriching the platform's coverage for cricket enthusiasts.

Related Articles

Latest Cricket NEWS