ICC Men's ODI Team of the Year 2022. Mohammad Siraj picked in pacer's capacity
Image Source: Twitter

IND vs WI: After the enthralling Test series, it’s now time for some white-ball action. The two teams India and West Indies will now lock horns in the ODIs as well as the T20Is. The 50 over series will begin from 27th July and will conclude on 1st August. After that, the five-match T20I series is scheduled to take place from 4th August to 13th August.

IND vs WI: Mohammed Siraj rested for the ODI series against West Indies – Reports

IND vs WI: With the first game of the ODI series between India and West Indies just a few hours away from now, it is learned as per the reports in ESPNCricinfo that Indian pace spearhead Mohammed Siraj has been rested for the three games. 

It is learned that Mohammed Siraj has flown back home along with the Test specialist in Ravichandran Ashwin, Ajinkya Rahane, KS Bharat and Navdeep Saini. The pacer was part of both the Tests and had a great outing as he picked two wickets in the first game and then followed it up with a five-wicket haul in the second game. 

Mohammed Siraj was expected to play all three ODIs because India is already without the services of Mohammed Shami and Jasprit Bumrah in this series. But keeping in the hectic schedule which includes Asia Cup and World Cup, the pacer has been asked to take time off. 

Read Also: ICC World Cup 2023: Australia schedule for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

Mohammed Siraj notably has been India’s best bowler in the ODIs for the last one year. Since 2022, he has taken 43 wickets, which is the most by an Indian bowler in ODIs. He last played a 50-over game in March against Australia and picked five wickets in the series. 

BCCI is yet to name the replacement of Mohammed Siraj. In his absence, likely, Jaydev Unadkat, Shardul Thakur and Umran Malik along with allrounder Hardik Pandya will form the pace attack of the team. 

IND vs WI: India squad for the ODI series against West Indies 


Here’s India’s squad for the ODI series against West Indies 

Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya (vc), Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Virat Kohli, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, Axar Patel, Ravindra Jadeja, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Mukesh Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, Shardul Thakur, Umran Malik