R Ashwin

IND vs WI: India is all set to tour West Indies in July and August. They will play 2 Tests, 3 ODIs and 5 T20Is. The two teams will be seen in action in Tests first, which will be played from 12th July to 24th July followed by ODIs that are slated to be played from 27th July to August 1st. The five-match T20Is are scheduled to take place from 4th August to 13th August. 

IND vs WI: Indian Playing 11 for the first Test against West Indies prediction 

Yashasvi Jaiswal To Replace Pujara In Test: Cricbuzz Reports
Yashasvi Jaiswal To Replace Pujara In Test

IND vs WI: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Thursday (23rd June) announced the Test squad for the upcoming Test series against West Indies. There were quite a few surprises in the team as Cheteshwar Pujara and Umesh Yadav were dropped from the team and there were opportunities for youngsters. 

Talking about the Playing 11, Indian skipper Rohit Sharma will no doubt be there at the top. But the question remains who will bat with him at the top? With Yashasvi Jaiswal also in the team, it is likely that he might bat at the top and team management might push Shubman Gill at No.3. 

Read Also: IND vs WI 2023: India to select their squad for West Indies tour on 27th June

Virat Kohli will be at No.4 no doubt whereas Ajinkya Rahane, who has been appointed as the vice-captain of the team, will be there at No.5. KS Bharat has been impressive with the gloves behind but his batting hasn’t been good. Therefore it is expected that we might see Ishan Kishan making a debut. 

Ravindra Jadeja is expected to play a crucial role with both bat and ball at No.7 whereas R Ashwin after being benched for the ICC WTC Final, is likely to back in the XI. Whereas Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj and Jaydev Unadkat are expected to be the three pacers. 

Rohit Sharma (c) 
Yashasvi Jaiswal 
Shubman Gill 
Virat Kohli 
Ajinkya Rahane 
Ishan Kishan (wk) 
Ravindra Jadeja 
R Ashwin
Shardul Thakur
Jaydev Unadkat 
Mohammed Siraj 

IND vs WI: Indian squad for the Test series against West Indies 

WTC 2023-25 Schedule: India's Full Schedule, Match List | World Test Championship
Team India during ICC WTC 2023 Final | Associated Press

IND vs WI: Here’s the Indian squad for the Test series against West Indies 

Rohit Sharma (Capt), Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ajinkya Rahane (VC), KS Bharat (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), R Ashwin, R Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, Navdeep Saini.