Friday, July 19, 2024

ICC WTC Final: Sunil Gavaskar Picks His Indian XI for the WTC Final; picks KL Rahul as keeper


ICC WTC Final: The focus is slightly moving towards the ICC World Test Championship Final. India and Australia will cross swords with each other in the final of the Test Championship and it’s fair to say that both the teams will be eager to lift the trophy. The event will take place at Oval England from the 7th to the 11th of June. 

ICC WTC Final: Sunil Gavaskar Picks His Indian XI for the World Test Championship Final

Indian Openers - Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul
Image Source: Twitter

ICC WTC Final: The Board of Control for Cricket (BCCI) on Tuesday (25th April) named the Indian squad for the ICC World Test Championship.  The squad seems pretty balanced and it’s fair to say that It’ll be a great opportunity for them to clinch their first ICC title since 2013. 

As the Indian cricket team named their squad for the ICC World Test Championship, former Indian cricketer Sunil Gavaskar named his Indian XI for the summit clash. What was surprising was that he picked KL Rahul as a keeper in the team and backed him to bat in the middle. 

Skipper Rohit Sharma along with young Shubman Gill will open the innings according to Sunil Gavaskar for India in the ICC WTC Final. The duo were in decent form in the Tests series against Australia and are expected to play a crucial role in the final. 

Gavaskar then picked the duo of Cheteshwar Pujara and Virat Kohli to bat at No.3 and No.4 respectively for India. The duo no doubt will hold the key for the team in the summit clash as they have been the prime run scorer for India in overseas conditions. 

Read Also: IPL 2023: Ranking All IPL 10 Teams Based on Their Potential set of Allrounders

Ajinkya Rahane, who will be making his comeback, will bat at No.5 as per Sunil Gavaskar whereas he preferred KL Rahul over KS Bharat as a keeper in the team. Rahul has a great overseas record and the team will likely look to fit him. 

He then didn’t opt for the four-seamer combinations as he backed both Ravindra Jadeja and R Ashwin to start in the XI. The three pacers in his team are Mohammad Shami, Mohammed Siraj and Jaydev Unadkat. 

Here’s Sunil Gavaskar’s playing XI for WTC Final: 

Rohit Sharma (C)
Shubman Gill
Cheteshwar Pujara 
Virat Kohli 
Ajinkya Rahane 
KL Rahul (Wk) 
Ravindra Jadeja 
R Ashwin 
Jaydev Unadkat 
Mohammad Shami 
Mohammed Siraj  

ICC WTC Final: India Squad for the ICC World Test Championship Final 

ICC WTC Final Qualification Scenario! Know, how can India qualify for the 2021-23 WTC final.
ICC WTC Final Qualification Scenario! Know, how can India qualify for the 2021-23 WTC final.

BCCI on Tuesday (25th April) announced the squad for the WTC final. Ajinkya Rahane was recalled into the team whereas the rest of the squad is pretty similar to what they fielded against Australia. 

Here’s India’s Test squad WTC final: 

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, K L Rahul, KS Bharat (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat.

Visit ICC CRICKET SCHEDULE for more cricketing updates.

Bookmarked post
Ankitjit Singh
Ankitjit Singh
Ankitjit Singh has 3+ years of experience in producing cricket articles. His expertise extends to cricket news, match analysis and fantasy cricket tips, providing valuable insights to fans around the world.

Related Articles

Latest Cricket NEWS