ICC new Rule

The stop-clock is set to become permanent in all ODIs and T20Is from June 2024, starting with the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 in the West Indies and USA.

60 seconds of the stop-clock are set to become permanent from the T20 World Cup 2024. This rule will be applied in One Day Internationals and T20 cricket as well. The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 kicks off on the specified date in the West Indies and USA.

Starting from the first match of the T20 World Cup, teams will be given 60 seconds to start the next over. Initially, two warnings will be given, with a 5-run penalty imposed on the third instance.

This is a significant rule, marking the first instance where penalties are incurred in terms of runs.

An electronic clock will be displayed in the playground, and the umpire has the responsibility to enforce this rule. The fielding team will receive three warnings before incurring the 5-run penalty.

This rule underwent a trial phase from November 2023 and will now become permanent from June 2024 for ODI and T20 formats.

Source of this information is ICC official website.

Also read: ICC Test Player Rankings (Rank 1 to 10) Updated on 13 March; Ashwin Reclaims Top Spot and Jaiswal Into TOP 10| Full ICC Men’s Test Player Standings