ICC Men's Team of the Year 2022 in Test, ODI and T20Is
Image Source: Twitter

ICC Men’s Team of the Year 2022 in Test, ODI and T20Is: International Cricket Council (ICC) on Tuesday revealed the list of its annual awards for 2022. As a part of the feature, the governing cricket body announced a combined playing11 across different formats consisting of the players who performed consistently throughout the year.

While the announcement of ICC Men’s Team of the Year 2022 in T20Is was done on Monday (23rd January), the Test and ODI sides were revealed today i.e., Tuesday (24th January).

The best-combined playingXI in the Test, ODI and T20Is were selected following a process of voting by the ICC’s specialist panel media representative and one to 11 nominations made by the esteemed panel specifying the wicketkeeper and captain.

This article will lead you through ICC Men’s Team of the Year 2022 in Test, ODI and T20Is.

ICC Men’s Test Team of the Year 2022

ICC Men's Test Team of the Year 2022. Ben Stokes named captain
Ben Stokes | Reuters Photo

English superstar all-rounder Ben Stokes has been picked as the leader of the peck which includes Marnus Labuschagne, Rishabh Pant, Pat Cummins and James Anderson among others.

Australian Usman Khawaja has been paired alongside West Indies Kraigg Braithwaite in the opening position. Marnus Labuschagne’s sublime form helped him get slotted in the third position followed by Pakistan’s Babar Azam and England’s Jonny Bairstow, who also won the ICC Player of the Month award for June.

Skipper Ben Stokes is at number six following which Indian wicketkeeper batter Rishabh Pant has been picked. The bowling lineup has been littered with the presence of Aussie pace spearhead Pat Cummins and Nathan Lyon alongside Protea pacer Kagiso Rabada and English James Anderson.

ICC Men’s Test Team of the Year 2022: Usman Khawaja (Aus), Kraigg Brathwaite (WI), Marnus Labuschagne (Aus), Babar Azam (Pak), Jonny Bairstow (Eng), Ben Stokes (c) (Eng), Rishabh Pant (wk) (Ind), Pat Cummins (Aus), Kagiso Rabada (SA), Nathan Lyon (Aus), James Anderson (Eng)

ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year 2022

ICC Men's ODI Team of the Year 2022. Mohammad Siraj picked in pacer's capacity
Image Source: Twitter

The global cricket body has acknowledged 11 individuals from seven different countries in its annual list of ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year 2022. The shortlisted players were supremely exceptional throughout the year whether it was with the bat, ball or in the field.

The highly skilful 11 men team is led by Pakistan skipper Babar Azam. The team include two individuals apiece from Australia, India, New Zealand and West Indies.

Pakistan’s Babar Azam has been coupled with Australian Travis Head. The two openers are followed by Caribbean Shai Hope, Indian Shreyas Iyer and Kiwi wicketkeeper batter Tom Latham.

Zimbabwe’s Sikandar Raza and Bangladesh’s Mehidy Hasan Miraz will fulfil the all-rounder’s duties in the ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year 2022.

Meanwhile, the bowling unit features West Indies’ Alzarri Joesph, Indian young pacer Mohammad Siraj, Kiwi Trent Boult and Australian spinner Adam Zampa.

ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year 2022: Babar Azam (c) (Pak), Travis Head (Aus), Shai Hope (WI), Shreyas Iyer (Ind), Tom Latham (wk) (NZ), Sikandar Raza (Zim), Mehidy Hasan Miraz (Ban), Alzarri Joseph (WI), Mohammad Siraj (Ind), Trent Boult (NZ), Adam Zampa (Aus).

ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year 2022

ICC Men's T20I Team of the Year 2022. Virat Kohli & Suryakumar Yadav named in the team.
Virat Kohli on left, Suryakumar Yadav on right | Image: ICC/Twitter

The 11 Men who have made their cut to the ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year 2022 include professionals from seven countries. The players have risen to the ranks owing to their steady performance in 2022.

The ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year 2022 is led by English white-ball skipper Jos Buttler, who will also assume the wicketkeeping duties for the team.

In the opening position, Buttler has been picked alongside Pakistan’s Mohammad Rizwan, followed by two Indian batters in Virat Kohli and Suryakumar Yadav and a Kiwi batter Glenn Phillips.

The all-rounder duties will be managed by Zimbabwe’s Sikandar Raza, Indian Hardik Pandya, England’s Sam Curran and Sri Lanka’s Wanindu Hasaranga. Two specialist bowlers have also been picked in Pakistan’s Haris Rauf and Ireland’s Josh Little.

ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year 2022: Jos Buttler (c/wk) (Eng), Mohammad Rizwan (Pak), Virat Kohli (Ind), Suryakumar Yadav (Ind), Glenn Phillips (NZ), Sikandar Raza (Zim), Hardik Pandya (Ind), Sam Curran (Eng), Wanindu Hasaranga (SL), Haris Rauf (Pak), Josh Little (Ire).

ALSO READ: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill score 100 each in Indore between India vs New Zealand 3rd ODI