FIFA World Cup Final

The FIFA World Cup Final is just two days away. Lionel Messi will be taking on Kylian Mbappe’s France. One of the greatest players of all time will be looking to grab the most prestigious trophy in the sport. The star players of this evening can be Julian Alvarez, Lautaro Martinez, or Nicholas Otamendi from Argentina, or Giroud, Mbappe, or Griezmann from France. But what happened in the previous three FIFA World Cup Finals? What happened in the 2018, 2014, and 2010 FIFA World Cup Finals? Here is a look: 

FIFA World Cup Final 2018: France is Champion: 

FIFA World Cup Final
IMG SRC: France Football

The 2018 Final saw France taking on Croatia. The game was over in the first 90 minutes. The star of the evening was Kylian Mbappe. He was just harassing the Croatian defenders throughout the tournament. The scoreline at the end said 4-2, France won! But the game was too good. Even the Croatian attackers pulled back 2 goals. Ivan Perisic was bothering the French defenders. But it wasn’t enough for the underdogs.  

FIFA World Cup Final 2018: Germany is Champion: 

This was one hell of a night. The game was a 0-0 draw in the first 90 minutes. In the last two minutes of extra time, it was the super-sub Mario Gotze who pulled out a miraculous for the Germans. The Germans entered the finals after giving the hosts Brazil a 7-1 beating in the semis. Argentina on the other hand had defeated the Dutch in penalties and got the spot in the final. This was one of the best FIFA World Cup Final.

FIFA World Cup Final
IMG SRC: Germany Football

Lionel Messi was playing his first ever world cup finals and the world awaited a Messi special. There were controversial decisions too. Did Neuer push down Higuain? Was Higuain off-side? Messi won the golden ball but the match ended with Germany on the winning side.  

FIFA World Cup 2010 Final: Spain is Champions: 

FIFA World Cup Final
IMG SRC: Spain national Team

Spain beat the Netherlands in this match. It was the Spanish legend Andres Iniesta who got the job done for them. It was a spectacular goal by the midfielder. The game was played in Soccer City in Johannesburg. This FIFA World Cup is renowned as the most entertaining one. Diego Forlan won the golden boot for scoring the most goals and Thomas Muller won the “Young Player of the Tournament” award. The top player for Spain in that final was David Villa. The striker kept irritating the Dutch defenders. But in the end, his efforts worked in favor of Spain and the game ended 1-0, Spain win! This FIFA World Cup Final was one of the most competitive ones.

To know more go to FIFA World Cup 2022: Argentina VS France Final Best Preview, Predictions, First XI, Venue, Timings. All You Need to Know.

Read more such articles at FIFA World Cup 2022: Top 5 Forwards of the FIFA World Cup 2022.

To learn more go to the official website of FIFA.