Well, wishes are from fairy tales we are told. But is DREAM11 any less than a fairy tale? Here’s where our wishes come true. A wish to build the best team in the world, with no boundaries, no confines. Our Dream 11 team for IPL 2020 has been selected following the protocol to include 4 overseas players. Out of which we have gone for two specialist batsmen (what a mammoth task that was!), one allrounder and one specialist bowler. The rest of the team (of 7 players) has Indian players.

So without further ado, let’s get, set, and…..bet!

DREAM11 team IPL2020 : Player no.1 – David Warner

David Warner: Outrightly the most successful and consistent overseas batsman, the first cricketer to have won the orange cap a record 3 times (2015,2017,2019), having 44 half centuries adorning his 4 centuries, he is the most sought after overseas batsman in IPL

DREAM11 team IPL2020 : Player no.2 – Chris Gayle

Chris Gayle: He is called the Big Boss of T20 format. The only cricketer to have won the orange cap twice, he is a part of most of the batting records. Highest individual score 175, highest number of centuries – 6, 28 fifties, 2nd fastest century in 30 balls, 3rd fastest 50 in 17 balls. The highest number of 6’s 326. He is all set to bat in this formidable form.

DREAM11 team IPL2020 : Player no.3 – Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma: This larger than life player is the world no.1 in the ODI format at present . The 3rd highest run getter in IPL and with the 4rth highest number of sixes, he has yet another opportunity to display that form in IPL2020 as well. After captaining an IPL championship for 4 years, we feel the year 2020 too will belong to him.

DREAM11 team IPL2020 : Player no.4 – Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli: The world’s best batsman in T20 and ODI. He has the highest aggregate runs in IPL 5412, highest aggregate in a single IPL season, 973 in 16 innings (2016). He has not played up to his potential yet and may be in IPL2020 he is going to prove himself. He has 5 centuries and 36 half centuries to his name. This is by no means a small achievement.

DREAM11 team IPL2020 : Player no.5 – M.S.Dhoni

M.S.Dhoni: The best wicketkeeper batsman any team could ask for in the IPL! The best captain who has won 3 IPL championships and narrowly missed the last one in 2019.Under his captaincy CSK reached all the playoffs played in IPL, which is a huge accomplishment in itself. A tremendous match finisher with his calculated hitting against a targeted bowler, his wicketkeeping skills, his shrewdness and keeping cool under pressure will definitely make him the captain of our DREAM11 IPL2020 team!

DREAM11 team IPL2020 : Player no.6 – Shane Watson

Shane Watson: (our initial thoughts turned to Dwane Bravo, but….) Shane Watson is the only player to get most runs, most wickets, highest score, highest batting average, most 6s from 2014 to 2017.He is the 1st player to win Man of the Tournament twice. He scored 117 not out in the 2018 final and won the IPL for CSK. Again in 2019, he scored 96, unluckily runout or he could have won another final for CSK which lost by 1 run to Mumbai Indians. From 2014 to 2019 Watson has been in the limelight. This is incredible performance, hence he is in our Dream11 IPL team as the only allrounder from overseas.

DREAM11 team IPL2020 : Player no.7 – Hardik Pandya

Hardik Pandya: The most talented Indian allrounder in T20 format. He is a clean striker of the ball and is also a very good bowler with a low economy rate and is also an excellent fielder! He adds value to the middle order of the team. All these qualities make him the best Indian allrounder for our DREAM11 IPL team.

DREAM11 team IPL2020 : Player no.8 – Andre Russell

Andre Russell: Andre Russel is one of the greatest T20 players for scoring runs at a run-rate of almost 300%, something never before seen in T20 matches. It was pure power and monstrous hitting, especially coming at the 6th and 7th position in the batting order. He was declared The Most Valuable Player and the Super Striker of the Season of 2019. But his efforts did not culminate into KKR winning an IPL trophy.

DREAM11 team IPL2020 : Player no.9 – Ravichandran Ashwin

Ravichandran Ashwin: There must be a spinner in every team, in case the wicket is turning. The best Indian spinner we have is Ravichandran Ashwin. He is also a fairly good batsman and coming down the line up is definitely an advantage. In 2010 he picked13 wickets and in 2011 he took 20 wickets, both these years CSK won the IPL finals. In total he has taken 125 wickets.

DREAM11 team IPL2020 : Player no.10 – Bhuvaneshwar

Bhuvaneshwar: He has a great swing and variety in his bowling which can deceive any batsman. He has carried the bowling burden of SRH single handedly earning the Purple cap in 2014 and 2017 IPL. 133 wickets in 117 matches, he has bowled the 3rd highest number of dot balls in IPL. A consistent economy hovering around 6 and 7, he is our next choice.

DREAM11 team IPL2020 : Player no.11 – Jasprit Bumrah

Jasprit Bumrah: He has emerged as the world’s best T20 bowler from being a lanky lad with an unorthodox bowling action to a specialist of bowling in the death overs when the pressure is at its peak. The best batsmen in the world have said that it is very difficult to hit Bumrah’s bowling as he has mastered the art of dishing out yorkers at his will and wish.

Reserves list for overseas players : AB De Villiers. Keiron Pollard, Lasith Malinga, Suresh Raina, Shikhar Dhawan, Ravindra Jadeja

One might wonder what are these players doing in our reserves list! Well, they have been exceptional in the past, with feathers in their caps, but according to us they have often fallen short at the time of need. Yet they make for excellent substitutes!

Final DREAM11 team for IPL2020

Our final DREAM11 team for IPL2020 is:

  1. David Warner
  2. Chris Gayle
  3. Rohit Sharma
  4. Virat Kohli
  5. M.S.Dhoni
  6. Shane Watson
  7. Hardik Pandya
  8. Andrew Russel.
  9. Ravichandran Ashwin
  10. Bhuvaneshwar Kumar.
  11. Jasprit Bumrah.

Reserve Players

Reserve Players: A batsman, an allrounder and a bowler.

Overseas : AB De Villers, Keiron Pollard, Lasith Malinga
Indian : Shikar Dhawan, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja.