Thursday, July 25, 2024
HomeScheduleBorder Gavaskar...

Border Gavaskar Trophy 2023: Schedule, Full Squads, fixture, Timing, and all you need to know | India vs Australia | Australia tour of India 2023


Border Gavaskar Trophy: “Test Matches are boring!” How frequently did we hear this before January 19, 2021? Yet the Gabba Victory changed people’s perspectives. India’s most difficult overseas Test tour was capped by what is likely their most memorable Test victory when they conquered at the Gabba against all odds and a more-favored rival.

From 36 all out in the first match of the tour to a 1-2 series victory, that Indian squad, despite many injuries, demonstrated great character and a strong drive to win the summer in Australia. The same Border-Gavaskar series is back, and this cycle of the Border Gavaskar Trophy is being hosted in India this year.

Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2023: Schedule, Squads, fixture, Timing and all you need to know | India vs Australia | Australia tour of India 2023
Rishabh Pant, the Gabba hero, after clinching the impenetrable GABBA fortress (ESPNcricinfo)

Border Gavaskar Trophy 2023: Introduction

Australia will visit India next month for four Tests and three ODIs. Following the Board of Control for Cricket in India’s (BCCI) confirmation of the 2023 Border-Gavaskar Trophy series schedule, Australia will play Test cricket at the biggest cricket stadium in the world for the first time this year.

Ahmedabad, the recent and advanced 132,000-capacity stadium named after current Prime Minister Narendra Modi, will host the climax of Australia’s first men’s Test series in India in six years. As per reports, the Test match in Ahmedabad may be a day-night game with a pink ball. The last Test at that venue was played under lights in early 2021 when England lost in two days to India.

Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2023: Schedule, Squads, fixture, Timing and all you need to know | India vs Australia | Australia tour of India 2023
Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad

The four-test series will begin on February 9 in Nagpur, followed by games in the capital Delhi (starting on February 17), the picturesque Dharamshala (beginning on March 1), and iconic Ahmedabad (from March 9). The wounded Australian team will undoubtedly want vengeance and give it their all on the field, while India will do everything in its power to protect the Border Gavaskar trophy. 

Let’s take a look at the schedule, squads, fixtures, etc of Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2023:

Border Gavaskar Trophy 2023: Schedule

DateMatchVenueTIME* (IST)
9th – 13th February1st TestVCA Stadium, Nagpur10:00 AM
17th – 21st February2nd TestArun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi10:00 AM
1st – 5th March3rd TestHPCA Stadium, Dharamsala10:00 AM
9th – 13th March4th TestNarendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad10:00 AM
(*not yet confirmed)

Border Gavaskar Trophy 2023: Squad

AUSTRALIA SQUAD: Pat Cummins (C), Steve Smith(VC), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Peter Handscomb, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Lance Morris, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner

INDIA SQUAD: Not yet announced

Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2023: Broadcasting and telecasting

All Tests will be telecast live on TV by the Star Sports team and streamed online on Disney+ Hotstar

READ: The last dhoni-Pant conversation before the Dhoni’s retirement, reveals R Sridhar, former fielding coach

Visit ICC CRICKET SCHEDULE for more cricketing updates.

Bookmarked post
Rahul Chaube
Rahul Chaube
Rahul, news editor and author at ICC Cricket Schedule, offers timely updates and engaging analysis, enriching the platform's coverage for cricket enthusiasts.

Related Articles

Latest Cricket NEWS