Big Bash League 2023-24: Teams, Squads and Live Streaming Details
Big Bash League | Image: Google

Big Bash League 2023–24: Australia’s T20 franchise league is all set to begin on December 7. This will be the 13th edition of this phenomenal tournament. Ashton Turner led the Perth Scorchers to defeat the Brisbane Heat by five wickets in a thrilling final last season to lift their fifth BBL title. Aaron Hardie won the golden bat last year as he scored 460 runs at an average of 41.82, while Sean Abbot was the Golden Arm winner with 29 scalps under his belt. This article will provide you the Big Bash League 2023–24: Teams, Squads, and Live Streaming Details

Brisbane Heat, the runners-up from the previous season, will take on the Melbourne Stars in the tournament’s opening match, while the Perth Scorchers, the reigning champions and record five-time winners, will begin their tournament by taking on the Melbourne Renegades. The Adelaide Strikers, Brisbane Heat, Hobart Hurricanes, Melbourne Stars, Melbourne Renegades, Perth Scorchers, Sydney Thunder, and Sydney Sixers are the same teams competing in the BBL 2023–24 season as they were the previous year.

The Perth Scorchers are the most successful team in BBL history, having won the competition a record five times, while the Sydney Sixers have won it three times. The Sydney Thunder, Melbourne Renegades, Brisbane Heat, and Adelaide Strikers have all lifted the title once.

After discussions between Cricket Australia and the broadcasters, the BBL 13 structure has undergone some significant adjustments. With a more compact schedule for the 13th edition of this competition, just 44 games will be played throughout this season—a significant decrease from the 61 matches played in the previous edition. There will be ten group stage matches for all eight participating teams.

Each team will play four teams once, and the remaining three teams twice. Changes have been made in the playoffs, and this time around only 4 playoff matches will be played instead of the usual 5.

Steve Smith 1
Big Bash League 2023-24: Teams, Squads and Live Streaming Details 3

The top four teams will advance to the playoffs, and the top two teams on the points table will play against each other in the qualifier, and the winner will get a straight ticket to the finals. Concurrently, the third and fourth-ranked teams will compete in the knockout match, and the winner of that match will face the loser of the qualifier in the challenger in order to secure the other spot in the finals.

In India, where can I watch the Big Bash League 2023–24?

One can watch all the matches of the Big Bash on the Star Sports 2 channel on TV, and the matches will also be live streamed on the Hotstar mobile app and website.

The BBL 2023–24 season will begin on December 7, 2023, and conclude on January 24, 2024. Group stage games will continue until January 17. The qualifier will take place on January 19, the knockout on January 20, and the challenger on January 22.

Squads of all the teams for BBL 2023–24

Adelaide Strikers: Wes Agar, Alex Carey, Travis Head, James Bazley, Cameron Boyce, Brendan Doggett, Chris Lynn, Thomas Kelly, D’arcy Short, Matthew Short, Henry Hunt, Jamie Overton, Adam Hose, Ben Maneti, Henry Thornton, Jake Weatherald, David Payne( Replacement for Rashid Khan) and Harry Nielsen.

Brisbane Heat: Usman Khawaja (C), Colin Munro, Sam Billings, Matt Renshaw, Jimmy Peirson, Marnus Labuschagne, Jack Wildermuth, Paul Walter, Mitchell Swepson, Will Prestwidge, Matthew Kuhnemann, Max Bryant, Xavier Bartlett, Josh Brown, Michael Neser and Spencer Johnson.

Hobart Hurricanes: Nathan Ellis (C), Tim David, Ben Mcdermott, Matthew Wade, Corey Anderson, Sam Heazlett, Nikhil Chaudhary, Sam Hain, Chris Jordan, Mac Wright, Mitch Owen, Billy Stanlake, Riley Meredith, Iain Carlisle, Paddy Dooley, Peter Hatzoglou, Caleb Jewell and Liam Guthrie.

Sydney Thunder: Chris Green (C), Jason Sangha, Cameron Bancroft, David Warner, Alex Hales, Alex Ross, Matt Gilkes, Nathan Mcandrew, Daniel Sams, Zaman Khan, Gurinder Sandhu, Tanveer Sangha, Ollie Davies, Liam Hatcher and Blake Nikitaras.

Sydney Sixers: Moises Henriques (C), Jordan Silk, James Vince, Steve Smith, Josh Philippe, Ben Dwarshuis, Tom Curran, Rehan Ahmed, Steve O’ Keefe, Todd Murphey, Kurtis Patterson, Hayden Kerr, Daniel Hughes, Jack Edwards, Joel Davies, Jackson Bird and Sean Abbott

Perth Scorchers
Perth Scorchers | Image -Google

Perth Scorchers: Ashton Turner (C), Aaron Hardie, Mitchell Marsh, Josh Inglis, Sam Whiteman, Zak Crawley, Matthew Kelly, Laurie Evans, Jhye Richardson, Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Nick Hobson, Cooper Conolly, Hamish Mckenzie, Lance Morris and Andrew Tye.

Melbourne Stars: Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Hilton Cartwright, Haris Rauf, Usama Mir, Nathan Coulter Nile, Joe Burns, Scott Boland, Liam Dawson (For 3 matches only), Mark Steketee, Joel Paris, Brody Couch, Sam Harper, Nick Larkin, Tom Rogers and Beau Webster.

Melbourne Renegades: Nic Maddinson (C), Shaun Marsh, Aaron Finch, Quinton De Kock, Nathan Lyon, Kane Richardson, Will Sutherland, Adam Zampa, Jon Wells, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Joe Clarke, Harry Dixon, Peter Siddle, Tom Rogers, Jake Fraser Mcgurk and Mackenzie Harvey.

Read: T20 World Cup 2024: Aakash Chopra picks his Indian openers for World Cup; omits Ruturaj Gaikwad and Shubman Gill

Visit the ICC OFFICIAL WEBSITE for more recent updates