Australia vs India: Rishabh Pant’s heroic as India inks history, wins the Gaba Test as well as the Border Gavaskar Series

Australia vs India: Rishabh Pant’s heroic as India inks history, wins the Gaba Test as well as the Border Gavaskar Series.

Australia vs India 4th Test Match: Team India pulled off a blinder to seal the Gaba test as well as the series on Tuesday, Day 5 of the fourth test match. Wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant showed sheer class and his calculated run-chase helped India retain the Border Gavaskar Trophy once again after 2018-19.

India successfully chased the target of 328 runs on Day 5 with three wickets in hand, as India inks history to defeat Australia at Gaba after 32 long years. The man of the chase, Rishabh Pant’s unbeaten 89 off 138 balls came when India needed it the most.

Team India’s back to back series win in Australia has the potential to end Tim Paine’s test captaincy career.

India coming to bat on Day 5 did not have a perfect start as Rohit Sharma departed early off Pat Cummins. India looked a bit nervous but young Shubman Gill had some other plans for the evening.

Cheteshwar Pujara at the beginning of his innings set his foot and started to pick some runs as India came closer to the target. Shubman Gill repeatedly took on the short balls despite the field was a sign to be fearless.

Cheteshwar Pujara in his innings took serval blows into his body but his grit and determination had no excuses to leave the crease.

Later, Pujara-Gill partnership was broken by Nathan Lyon who picked Shubman Gill with an outside edge. Gill fell 9 short runs for his maiden Test hundred.

Skipper Ajinkya Rahane unlike other days started taking on the bowler right from the start. Rahane even smashed Lyon for a six in the early overs but soon Rahane was also sent to the dugout by Pat Cummins.

Rishabh Pant unbeaten 89 runs:

The young-man Rishabh Pant showed the patience at the start and build an innings along with Cheteshwar Pujara. In no time Pujara completed his half-century and started to increase the scoring rate.

Rishabh Pant kept his nerves and stood tall in the crease and took some calculated risks. Both the batsmen put India, even more, closer to the victory.

However, Pujara was given leg-before wicket off Pat Cummins with the new ball. The surface at Gaba started to play some tricks with the new ball.

Mayank Agarwal also departed after hitting some god strokes off Pat Cummins.

Rishabh Pant and Washington Sundar rotated the good strikes. Washington Sundar started to accelerate the innings from one end and smacked some boundaries.

As said, fortune favours the brave, India came up with some good luck and got some bonus boundaries.

However, Sundar left after India were 10 runs short of victory.

While Rishabh Pant took the charge and in no time, India won the game by three wickets.

Rishabh Pant the hero of the chase scored unbeaten 89 runs, while Cheteshwar Pujara scored 56 runs.

Rahane amassed 24 runs and Washington Sundar scored 22 to pull off the blinder against Australia.

India won the Border Gavaskar Series by 2-1 lead. With the win, India jumped over Australia to take over number 1 place in ICC World Test Championship Points Table.

ALSO READ: IPL 2021: 3 Players Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) might release ahead of IPL 2021
BCCI to conduct Ranji Trophy 2021 ahead of IPL, taking into consideration the livelihood of the players