Australia vs India: Ajinkya Rahane’s name engraved in the Honours Board of MCG

Australia vs India: Ajinkya Rahane’s name engraved in the Honours Board of MCG.

Australia vs India: Team India’s stand-in skipper’s name has been engraved in the Melbourne Cricket Ground’s Honoury Board for the second time. Rahane achieved this feat after scoring a match-winning knock to level the series on 1-1 at MCG.

Ajinkya Rahane earned the honor for his 12th Test ton amassing 104 runs to lead India to the driving seat in the second test against Australia.

Back in 2014, after his crucial 147 runs knock at Melbourne Cricket Ground, his name was engraved on the board for the first time. However, the test resulted in a draw at that time.

India’s regular skipper Virat Kohli’s name is also featured in the prestigious board after he scored 169 runs in 227 balls.

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Wednesday shared a video showing the engravement of Ajinkya Rahane’s name to the board for the second time.

MCG Honours Board:

It stated, “After leading from the front with a fantastic ton in the Boxing Day Test against Australia, @ajinkyarahane88 has his name engraved on the MCG Honours Board for the second time.”

Stand-in skipper Ajinkya Rahane is also the winner of inaugural Mullagh Medal after his match winning performance. The player of the match of the Boxing Day Test is awarded by the medal named in honor of trailblazing Indigenous cricketer Johnny Mullagh.

Later in the evening, Ajinkya took time to appreciate and thank all his fans with a message on his twitter handle.

Rahane said, “I would like to express my gratitude for all the love and support we’ve received. The biggest reward for us as a team has been the ability to bring a smile on the faces of all those Indians that follow the sport. We continue to seek your support and good wishes as we work hard for the next two matches.”

ALSO READ: Sreesanth returns to the Kerala Squad for Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021
Australia squad for the 3rd test match against India, David Warner and Will Pucovski returns