ICC Future Tour Programme (FTP) of India, Complete Tournaments/Series Details

Asia Cup 2021: BCCI to send a second-string Indian side in Asia Cup 2021.

Asia Cup 2021: As India march towards the final of the ICC World Test Championship 2021, BCCI is likely to send the second-string Indian side in the forthcoming Asia Cup 2021. The Asia Cup 2020 was cancelled due to the ranging pandemic across the globe.

India will be facing New Zealand in the inaugural season of the ICC World Test Championship. The venue for the final is not decided yet. Earlier, the home of cricket ‘Lords’ was scheduled for the game however according to some reports, ICC is looking to shift the venue.

According to the sources close to ICC, Southampton might be chosen as the venue because of its lodging facilities inside the stadium premises.

The Asia Cup usually begins in the month of June-July, where all the Asia team come together to fight for the trophy.

India has a packed summer ahead, which begins with the IPL followed by the WTC against New Zealand. India will not fly back home and play a series against England post which India will host South Africa and New Zealand for the white ball fixtures. Then comes the ICC T20 World Cup.

Amidst all these fixtures, BCCI is left with only two options. Either send a second-string Indian team to the Asia Cup or pull back from the tournament.

It is highly unlikely that BCCI will pull back from the tournament, the possibilities to send a second-string Indian team is very high.

Asian Cricket Council (ACC) and BCCI are looking into the matter and it is reported that this time Asia Cup might be held in Sri Lanka

“There’s no other choice. We can’t risk the preparation for the series in England. And cricketers can’t twice undergo quarantine. If the Asia Cup happens, India will have no option but to send a second-string squad,” top sources confirmed as per a report in TOI.

ALSO READ: IPL 2021: English players will be available for the entire IPL 2021 says, Silverwood
IPL 2021 Schedule for MI, KKR, CSK, RCB, PBKS (KXIP), SRH, DC, RR