Ruturaj Gaikwad
Ruturaj Gaikwad Hits 7 Sixes In An Over

Ruturaj Gaikwad Creates History: Ruturaj Gaikwad, the opener for Chennai Super Kings and Maharashtra, created List A history by smashing 43 runs and seven sixes in a single over. Gaikwad accomplished the feat on Monday at the Narendra Modi Stadium B Ground in Ahmedabad while batting first for Maharashtra against Uttar Pradesh in the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022 quarterfinal (November 28).

Ruturaj Gaikwad, the opening batsman for Maharashtra, displayed his blistering best performance against Uttar Pradesh in the ongoing Vijay Hazare Trophy quarter-final. His onslaught of 220 not out helped his team post 330 runs in the sanctioned fifty overs. After Tamil Nadu’s opener Narayan Jagadeesan, who had scored 277 against Arunachal Pradesh, Gaikwad smashed the second double hundred of the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022 season.

Ruturaj Gaikwad Creates History
Gaikwad smashes List A record with seven sixes in an over.

READ: Sanju Samson fans show support for him during the FIFA World Cup 2022

Ruturaj Gaikwad Creates History:

Beginning on 165, the 49th over from UP left-arm spinner Shiva Singh, Gaikwad had already surpassed a double hundred by the time he smashed his sixth six in that over.

The prolific opener has scored 987 runs at a strike rate of 115 and has six centuries (including a double century) under his belt in the last eight innings. In the last eight innings, he scored 136 not out, 154 not out, 124, 21, 168, 124 not out, 40 and 220 not out. With at least 50 innings played, Ruturaj Gaikwad currently owns the highest List A average (58.71) in the entire world. (3758 runs in 69 innings). He has left England’s Sam Hahn (58.54) behind.

The young starting opener has joined Rohit Sharma as the only other Indian batsman to hit 16 sixes in a List A innings. In an ODI match against Sri Lanka, Rohit scored 264 points, accomplishing this mark.

While 36 runs in an over in a first-class match are generally considered the record, it has actually been achieved twice, by Garry Sobers and Ravi Shastri. The biggest is perhaps the 77 runs in an over by Bert Vance of Wellington conceded during a Shell Trophy match against Canterbury in February 1990 in strange circumstances.

READ MORE: ICC World Cup Super League Points: Afghanistan qualify for World Cup 2023

Visit ICC CRICKET SCHEDULE for more cricketing updates