Home Women’s Premier League (cricket) WPL

Women’s Premier League (cricket) WPL

The Women’s Premier League (WPL) is an upcoming women’s Twenty20 cricket league in India. The launch of the Women’s Premier League by the BCCI is a positive step towards promoting women’s cricket in India. It will provide a platform for women cricketers to showcase their skills and attract more viewership for women’s cricket in the country.

The first season of the WPL will be played in March 2023, and it will feature five franchises. The tournament will be played in the Twenty20 format, which is the most popular format of the game in the world. Mumbai and Navi Mumbai have been chosen as the host cities for the inaugural season.

The league is owned and operated by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The tournament format will include a round-robin and playoffs, and the matches will be broadcast on Sports18 and JioCinema. The official website of the WPL is wplt20.com.

WPL 2023

AdministratorBoard of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI)
FormatTwenty20 cricket
First editionWPL 2023
Tournament formatRound-robin and playoffs
Number of teams5
TVJioCinema, Sports18

WPL 2023 Teams and Standing

Royal Challengers Bangalore
Women's Premier League (cricket) WPL 6
Royal Challengers Bangalore 8264-1.137
Delhi Capitals WPL logo
Delhi Capitals86212+1.856
Mumbai Indians Women IPL Team
Women's Premier League (cricket) WPL 7
(Q) Mumbai Indians86212+1.711
Gujarat Giants Women IPL Team
Women's Premier League (cricket) WPL 8
Gujarat Giants8264-2.220
UP Warriorz WPL logo
Women's Premier League (cricket) WPL 9
UP Warriorz8448-0.200

Overall, the launch of the Women’s Premier League is a significant development for women’s cricket in India, and it will help further develop the game in the country.