TATA IPL Points Table Latest Updated after RCB vs KKR IPL-2024 | KKR in Second Position| Indian Premier League
IPL 2024 Updated Points Table | Pic: IPL

RCB vs KKR: Shreyas Iyer-led Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) registered their second consecutive victory of the IPL 2024 as they defeated Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) by seven wickets in match number 10 of the 2024 Indian Premier League. With their second win in the current campaign, KKR continues to remain in the top half of the overall standings of IPL 2024.

RCB were asked to bat first by Shreyas Iyer’s Kolkata Knight Riders on a pitch which was a batting paradise and a nightmare for the bowlers. The pitch assisted the pacers in the initial overs, but as the swing went away, the batters started to dominate.

The duo of Virat Kohli and Faf Du Plessis got RCB off to a good start, but Harshit Rana got the better of the RCB skipper he got dismissed early on in the powerplay. But it was yet another Virat Kohli masterclass, as he and Cameron Green completely dominated the KKR bowling unit on a flat pitch.

Virat Kohli 8
IPL 2024, RCB vs KKR

Andre Russell was brought into the attack, and he dismissed Cameron Green (33 runs in 21 balls) after the end of the powerplay. Maxwell came out and played a good hand of 28 runs in 19 balls, but Sunil Marine sent him back to the pavilion.

KKR tried their best to put a stop on the scoring rate of RCB, but Varun Chakravathy’s 17-run over spoiled things for the Kolkata-based team. Maxwell got dropped twice as well, but luckily Narine dealt with his threat. The likes of Anuj Rawat and Rajat Patidar couldn’t get going, and both of them perished.

But, RCB’s favorite finisher, Dinesh Karthik, played yet another special knock of 20 runs in 8 balls and, alongside Kohli, helped RCB post 182 runs on the board.

KKR had to chase the target of 183 runs if they wanted to maintain their record of consecutive wins against RCB, and they did exactly that as the opening pair of Sunil Narine (47 runs in 22 balls) and Philip Salt (30 runs in 20 balls) got involved in an opening partnership of 86 runs in the first six overs and turned the game into a one-sided affair.

Venkatesh Iyer and Shreyas Iyer | Pic: X (KKR)

Mayank Dagar gave some hope to RCB as he dismissed Narine with a ripper, but Venkatesh Iyer (50 runs in 30 balls) didn’t allow the RCB bowlers to settle.

Vyshak dismissed Salt but it was too late as the duo of Shreyas Iyer (39 runs in 24 balls) and Rinku Singh (5 runs in 5 balls) helped KKR get over the line and seal the match.

TATA IPL Points Table Latest Updated after RCB vs KKR

Kolkata Knight Riders, Rajasthan, and Chennai Super Kings remain the only unbeaten teams so far in the IPL 2024. CSK are still the table toppers with two points and a net run rate of +1.979, having won both of their games against RCB and GT.

Shreyas’s Iyer Kolkata Knight Riders are at number two with two wins out of two games as well, but their Net Run Rate of +1.047 is lower than CSK.

Sanju Samson’s Rajasthan Royals are at the third place with two points and a positive Net Run Rate of +0.800.

The number four and number five positions in the overall standings are occupied by Sunrisers Hyderabad and Punjab Kings and both have two points next to their name having won one game and lost one as well but SRH’s superior net run rate of +0.675 keeps them ahead of Punjab (+0.025). 

RCB started their season with a defeat against CSK but bounced back with a win against PBKS. However, the Kolkata Knight Riders had some other plans as they defeated RCB in match number 10 of IPL 2024 and the defeat against KKR means that the Royal Challengers Bengaluru are sitting at the sixth position with two points next to their name with a negative run rate of -0.711.

2022 IPL winners Gujarat Titans are in the bottom half of the IPL 2024 points table as they are currently at the seventh position with two points and a negative Net Run Rate of -1.425. They won one game against the Mumbai Indians and lost the other against the Chennai Super Kings. 

Number eight, nine and ten positions are occupied by Delhi Capitals, Mumbai Indians and the Lucknow Super Giants

Chennai Super Kings
2Kolkata Knight Riders220041.047
3Rajasthan Royals220040.800
4Sunrisers Hyderabad211020.675
5Punjab Kings211020.025
6Royal Challengers Bengaluru31202-0.711
7Gujarat Titans21102-1.425
8Delhi Capitals20200-0.528
9Mumbai Indians20200-0.925
10Lucknow Super Giants10100-1.000

Read: Rohit and Bumrah vs Pandya and Kishan – 2 factions emerge in Mumbai Indians


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here