Rohit Sharma 2023 {PC Getty}
Rohit Sharma {PC Getty}

Indian captain Rohit Sharma created history as he achieved an all-time record in the history of the One-day Internationals. The right-hander became the first cricketer ever to have a 50+ average in 10 different years in a 50-over format. 

Rohit Sharma achieved the feat after his prolific run in ODIs in the year 2023. The Indian captain was at his exceptional best in the 50-over format this year. He batted aggressively throughout the games he played this year and was one of the main reasons behind his team’s success. 

Rohit Sharma played 27 ODIs this year. The opening batter scored 1255 runs at an average of 52.29. Apart from this he also had a strike rate of around 117. The Indian captain also smashed two centuries and 9 half-centuries this year with a best of 131.

Read Also: IND vs SA: Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli to take part in intra-squad game ahead of India vs South Africa Test Series

Rohit Sharma’s best came during the ICC World Cup 2023. He mustered 597 runs in 11 innings. He had an exceptional average of 54.27 and a strike rate of 125.94. The Indian captain also scored one century and three half-centuries. 

Him having a dream run in the World Cup was one of the main reasons behind him having a 50+ average for the 10th consecutive year. With the way he batted in 2023 in all three formats, fans would be hoping that he continues his golden touch and replicate something similar in the next year. 

Here’s Rohit Sharma’s average in ODIs over the last 10 years

2011 – 55.54.
2013 – 52.
2014 – 52.54.
2015 – 50.94.
2016 – 62.66.
2017 – 71.83.
2018 – 73.57.
2019 – 57.30.
2020 – 57.
2023 – 52.29.

Rohit Sharma to be next seen in action during South Africa series 

World Cup 2024: Rohit Sharma talks about his retirement plans, explains India's plans for T20 World Cup 2024
Image: ICC WTC Final 2023

Indian captain Rohit Sharma hasn’t played any cricket since the end of the ICC World Cup 2023. The opening batter now will be next seen in action during the Test series against South Africa. He opted for rest in the white-ball leg and will join the squad once the ODI and T20I series conclude. 

Here’s the Indian squad for the Test series against South Africa: 

Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wk), KL Rahul (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Mohd. Shami*, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Prasidh Krishna.