T20 World Cup 2021: Shoaib Akhtar slams ICC for not picking Babar Azam as Man of the tournament

PCB Awards 2020: Babar Azam wins Most Valuable Cricketer.

PCB Awards 2020: Pakistan regular captain Babar Azam wins the Most Valuable Cricketer of the year award at Pakistan Cricket Board Awards 2020. One of the finest cricketers in recent times, Azam averages over 50 in all three formats of the game.

In the past year, Azam scored 338 runs in the last four test matches with an impressive average of 67.6. Pakistan skipper has been spectacular on the white ball charts averaging over 110 in ODIs and 55.2 in T20Is.

Test Cricketer of the Year:

Recent stand-in skipper for Pakistan against New Zealand, Mohammad Rizwan has been named as the Test Cricketer of the year in PCB awards. Rizwan in his last 5 test matches amassed 302 runs including four half-centuries in the difficult conditions. Averaging 43.14. Rizwan struck 12 batsmen behind the stumps.

Fawad Alam’s 102 runs knock against New Zealand in the first test match has been referred to as the Individual Performance of the year by the independent jury compromising of distinguishing cricketers.

In the Women’s awards category, all-rounder Aliya Riaz has bagged the Women’s Cricketer of the year award while the Women’s Emerging Cricketer of the year is bagged by 19-years old Fatima Sana.

Pakistan’s youngest Naseem Shah grabbed the Emerging Cricketer of the year award for his brilliant performance in the test games. The 17-years old cricketer also owns a hat-trick against Bangladesh making him the youngest player to achieve the rare feat.

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa’s Kamran Ghulam grabbed the Domestic Cricketer of the year award as he becomes the only cricketer to complete 1,000 runs in the ongoing first-class Quaid-e-Azam Trophy. The cricketer completed 1,000 runs in 19 innings of 10 first-class games. He smacked four centuries and four half-centuries and an impressive average of 60.

The winners of the awards will be rewarded by the specially designed Trophies in the upcoming home series against South Africa.

ALSO READ: New Zealand vs Pakistan: Matt Hanry named Neil Wagner’s replacement for the tests
Australia vs India: Rohit Sharma appointed as Vice-Captain for the two test matches