New Format and Rules in IPL 2021 after the addition of two new teams

IPL 2021 will be delayed for at least 2 weeks with respect to the previous season

New Format and Rules in IPL 2021 after the addition of two new teams. The format of 2011 will come into force. New Format and Rules in IPL 2021 after the addition of two new teams.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India is all set to introduce two new franchises to the upcoming season of the Indian Premier League (IPL). A lot of speculations were made on how to carry out new things in such a short time. However, BCCI seems pretty convinced with the decision of adding new teams to the T20 extravaganza.

The final decision and approval will come after the Annual General Meeting (AGM) which is scheduled for 24th December. Ahmedabad is likely to get a ticket to feature in IPL for the first time.

This will not be the first time that 10 teams will compete for the title. BCCI introduced 10 teams to the pool back in 2011 while the next two seasons of IPL featured nine teams. BCCI is all set to repeat the 2011 history by approving two new teams to the pool.

  IPL 2022: Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) coaches revealed for the IPL 2022, SRH support staff

The format will also be changed with the induction of the new teams, as per the reports. It is likely that BCCI will come up with something similar to the 2011 format which saved time.

The existing franchise owners seemed unhappy with the decision as the time for the next IPL is very little to carry out all the duties. The Auctions will become very hectic.

New Format of IPL 2021:

If BCCI goes with the regular format, the addition of two teams will lead the games to go up to 18 per team. However, the total number will go to 94 and the IPL window is too short to carry out these games peacefully.

Believing the reports of Times of India, BCCI will go with the new format. A total of 10 teams will be divided into two groups. Both groups will have an equal number of teams, i.e., 5 teams per side.

  IPL 2021: full players list of PUNJAB KINGS

Each team will play twice (home and away game) with the other 4 teams of the same group, but each team will play only once with the 4 teams of the other group, while twice with the remaining team of the other group.

A random draw will be carried out to find out groups and select which team plays against the other once or twice. The format of the game looked complicated initially but it saved a lot of time for players and BCCI in 2011.

ALSO READ: Australia vs India 3rd T20I: Match Preview, Prediction, Playing 11, Dream11 Fantasy Tips AUs vs Ind 3rd T20I
ALSO READ: Rohit Sharma working on to shed some weight along with Hamstring