India’s Sri Lanka tour confirmed, Limited overs series to be played between July 23-25

India’s Sri Lanka tour confirmed, Limited overs series to be played between July 23-25.

A second-string Indian blues will tour island nation Sri Lanka for a three games ODI series and as many games T20I series in July, confirmed official broadcaster Sony on Monday.

The Indian selectors are expected to pick a lot of fringe cricketers for the tour which will begin on July 23 while the last assignment will be played on July 25th.

The tour will begin with the One Day Internationals (ODIs) on July 13, 16 and 18 followed by the Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is) from July 21, 23 and 25.

The likes of Shikhar Dhawan and Hardik Pandya are the two most prominent options to lead India in the limited-overs tour while senior cricketers Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma will be absent. If Delhi Capitals (DC) skipper Shreyas Iyer proves himself fully fit then he will be another candidate for the leadership reins.

ALSO READ: T20 Leagues Can Out Shadow International Cricket, Need Corrective Steps: Faf Du Plessis

“Indian waves will crash against the Sri Lankan shore with #JeetneKiZid,” the channel tweeted with the schedule.

The Indian senior team will be having their assignment in England with New Zealand and England respectively. Virat Kohli and his formidable side will first take on New Zealand for the final of the ICC World Test Championship, beginning 18th June.

After the completion of the WTC final, India will have a month-long gap before the visitors will play their five test games assignment against hosts England, starting August 4.

The squad for the Sri Lanka tour are yet to be announced and it is expected that the selectors will reveal it by the end of June.

ALSO READ: Vivo IPL 2021 Dates Announced, IPL To Begin On September 19, Final On October 15