IND vs WI: Complete break for Rohit Sharma, Virat from test cricket, says Gavaskar | IND vs WI Test series
Getty Image

India and West Indies are currently locking horns with each other in the second game of the series at the Queen’s Park Oval in Port of Spain, Trinidad. After a sensational show in the first game, which they won by innings and 141 runs, the hosts were asked to bat first. 

India had a great start with the bat yet again as they went wicketless in the first session as the chief architect behind this was skipper Rohit Sharma. The senior Indian opener stitched a 139-run partnership with Yashasvi Jaiswal (57) and made sure that his side is off to a great start. 

Rohit Sharma oozed his class and smashed a magnificent half-century. He played some stunning shots and made 80 runs. The Indian captain looked all set for a big knock but his innings was cut short by Jomel Warrican, who produced a peach to dismiss the Indian batter. He batted for 143 balls, smashing nine boundaries and two sixes.

Rohit Sharma’s innings saw him breaking quite a few records. He first surpassed MS Dhoni to become the fifth-highest leading run-getter for India in international cricket. Not only this but he also overtook David Warner to become third highest run-getter among active players. 

Read Also: ICC World Cup 2023: Rohit Sharma’s record against Australia in ODIs will blow you up

If this was not enough, Rohit Sharma is also the second fast Indian opener to complete 2000 runs in Test cricket, surpassing great Sunil Gavaskar and now only has Virender Sehwag. Apart from this the Indian skipper also became the first player from India to score 2000 runs in WTC history. 

IND vs WI: Rohit Sharma becomes fifth highest run-getter for India, Check the list 

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli | Twitter

Here is the list of highest run-getters for India:

S.No Player Name Matches Runs Average 100s 50s 
1.Sachin Tendulkar 664 34357 48.52100164
2.Virat Kohli 500*25461*53.4875131 
3.Rahul Dravid 5042406445.57 48145 
4.Sourav Ganguly 4211843341.4238106 
5.Rohit Sharma 443*1729843.024492