ICC released a complete list of ICC events for coming years under Future Tour Programme

ICC released a complete list of ICC events for coming years under Future Tour & Programme.

ICC’s Future Tours Programme (FTP): The biggest cricket body on Tuesday released a complete list of ICC events that will be held every year, according to which the T20 World Cups will now be held every two years while the ICC Champions Trophy is brought back to action by the global body.

Amid these dire times when the pandemic has wreaked havoc across the globe, the global cricketing body has planned to bring out the best times for the Cricket fans.

According to the future tours programmes (FTPs) the inaugural World Test Championship will have another four cycles.

In the virtual meeting held on June 1 between the high-authority board members of the ICC, the panel confirmed the schedule of ICC events from 2024-2031. The ICC T20 World Cup and ODI World Cup will be extended with more teams joining the competition while the Champions Trophy will be re-introduced.

“The ICC Board today confirmed the schedule of ICC events from 2024-2031 with both the men’s Cricket World Cup and men’s T20 World Cup to be expanded and a men’s Champions Trophy to be re-introduced,” the global body said in a release issued after the board meeting.

The ICC ODI World Cup which earlier used to be a 10 teams affair is now expanded to 14 teams whereas the T20 World Cup is broadened to 20 teams from 16 teams.

“The men’s Cricket World Cup will become a 14 team, 54-match event in 2027 and 2031, whilst the men’s T20 World Cup will be expanded to a 20 team, 55-match event in 2024, 2026, 2028 and 2030.”

The ICC T20 World Cup 2021 will remain the same with 16-teams fighting for glory.

“An eight team Champions Trophy will be hosted in 2025 and 2029. World Test Championship Finals will be hosted in 2025, 2027, 2029 and 2031. The ICC Women’s event schedule has already been confirmed with the expansion of both the Cricket World Cup and T20 World Cup forming part of the ICC’s long-term commitment to growing the women’s game,” it further stated.

The ICC ODI World Cup 14 teams will be divided into two groups of seven with top three in each group advancing followed by knockout games.

The T20 World Cup will have four groups of five teams each and the top two teams from each group will advance to the super eight stage followed by the Knockout games.

The Champions Trophy will remain the same as earlier. The two groups of four teams will fight.

ALSO READ: Top 10 Biggest International Cricket Stadiums With Maximum Seating Capacity In 2021
Top 10 Highest Paid International Cricket Coaches In The Year 2021