Border Gavaskar Trophy 2020-21 has been crowned as the ‘Ultimate Test Series’ by ICC

Border Gavaskar Trophy 2020-21 has been crowned as the ‘Ultimate Test Series’ by ICC

Border Gavaskar Trophy 2020-21 has been crowned as the ‘Ultimate Test Series’ by ICC.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) crowned the last Border Gavaskar Trophy as the “Ultimate Test Series” earlier today.

The India-Australia featured Border Gavaskar Trophy 2020-21 that turned out to be a thrilling encounter between the two cricket giants was voted out to and termed at the “Ultimate Test Series” by ICC.

The winner of the poll was picked after millions of cricket fans across the globe voted for it.

“We whittled it down to a shortlist of 16 and from there we let you take over. Across 15 head-to-heads, over seven million votes were cast as the 16 series were knocked out one by one until there was only one left standing – the 2020/21 Border-Gavaskar Trophy,” said ICC.

India won the 2017-18 Border Gavaskar Trophy, however, it didn’t feature the two biggest Australian stars. Many cricket critics cited India’s win as a gift, as Australia were without Steve Smith and David Warner.

The 2020-21 Border Gavaskar Trophy for India was all about proving their mettle on the Australian soil and retain the trophy without caring about who the opposition had available.

  BCCI rolls out blueprint for IPL 2022, Mega Auction date, New Franchise, Retention policy

ALSO READ: Ravi Ashwin Takes A Hilarious Dig At Sanjay Manjrekar’s Tweet Stating ‘Ashwin Is Not All Time Great’

Border Gavaskar Trophy 2020-21 Timeline:

As the series went on, India showed enormous grit, confidence and retained the trophy, inking history by boiling down Australia’s massive record at Gaba. India conquered not only Gaba but also the Border Gavaskar Trophy 2020-21 by 2-1, despite being ravaged by multiple injuries.

First Test, Adelaide Oval
Australia win by eight wickets
POTM: Tim Paine

India lost the first encounter to Australia in Adelaide Oval after the hosts bundled the Indian side for mere 36 runs in the second innings. Chasing down 93, Australia went up in the series by 1-0.

India apart from losing the game lost Mohammad Shami and Jasprit Bumrah as both pacers sustained injuries.

Second Test, MCG
India win by eight wickets
POTM: Ajinkya Rahane

India made a tremendous comeback as Skipper Ajinkya Rahane smacked a match saving ton at MCG. India won the second game by eight wickets.

India suffered yet another loss, this time Umesh Yadav got ruled out for the whole series.

  IPL 2022: BCCI expecting 7000 Crores to 10,000 Crores for two new IPL teams each

Third Test, SCG
POTM: Steve Smith

The third test between India and Australia at Sydney Cricket Ground ended in a draw after Ravichandran Ashwin and Hanuma Vihari fought out the Aussie bowling attack to save the game.

The game cost India, three other senior cricketers. Ravindra Jadeja fractured his thumb, Hanuma Vihari and Ravichandran Ashwin, who held the crease at both ends to save the test match, suffered Hamstring and back injuries respectively.

Fourth Test
India win by three wickets
POTM: Rishabh Pant

The decider of the Border Gavaskar Trophy was at Gaba, the ground where the hosts have never lost a test game since the last 32 years. All the pain and sacrifices made before the game came down to one last showdown.

India conquered the fortress Gaba, riding on Shubman Gill’s (91 runs) and Rishabh Pant’s gutsy unbeaten 89 runs in the second innings.

India won the game as well as the series by 2-1 and retained the Border Gavaskar Trophy, this time in presence of a comprehensive Aussie unit.

ALSO READ: ICC Revealed The Umpires For The ICC World Test Championship, Richard Kettleborough