BCCI announced squad composition for Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2020-21

BCCI announced squad composition for Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2020-21

BCCI announced squad composition for Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2020-21. A total of 30 members per teams will be allowed. BCCI announced squad composition for Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2020-21.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) secretary Jay Shah on Saturday had written to all the association to keep their squad limit squeezed. According to the letter written by Shah, the squad size should not exceed 30 members for a team for Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2020-21.

Every team is asked to include one separate Physician for the covid related issues in the team and the physician must be included in 30 members.

Each team participating in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy can have a maximum of 20 players and 10 support staff. Each team should have a team physician to manage Covid-19 related issues,” Shah.

The team’s physician must be separate from the regular team physiotherapist and is inclusive of a 30 member squad.


BCCI has planned to begin the Indian domestic circuit by the annual T20 League. All the respective teams are advised to reach the hubs by January 2. Further details regarding the Schedule, Hotels, and playing conditions will be notified later.

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy is scheduled to begin from January 10 till 31 January and the board has picked six venues to host the matches – Mumbai, Kolkata, Bangalore, Indore, Vadodra, and Tamil Nadu.

The health and safety of each player and member of the teams, match officials and state association members are constant to our planning for the SMAT. With Covid-19 pandemic affecting the way of cricket, all the measures and systems are being implemented across travel, hotel, and training to ensure the safety of the players and the safe conduction of the annual T20 League.”

The upper two teams from the Plate Group of previous years Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy has been placed in the Elite Group to get the balance of six teams per Elite Group. However, the plate group has a total of eight teams,” Shah added.

Qualification schedule for Knockout games:

All the five Elite groups and one Plate Group will play five league matches per group so that all the 38 teams play an equal number of games. The Plate group has eight teams and each team would play only five Matches. The top team from every group (five Elite Group and one Plate Group) will be directly sent to the knockouts and the subsequent top two teams from the five Elite Groups will also qualify for the Knockouts, making it eight teams knockout.

ALSO READ: Australia vs India 1st Test: Australia thrashed India by 8 wickets in the first Test Match
Australia vs India: Team India’s lowest score in Tests, 1st Test against Australia


Tags: ,
Scroll to Top