Bangladesh Cricket Team have suffered a major blow as premier batter Litton Das has been ruled out of the Asia Cup 2023 on the day when the tournament will start i.e. (30th August). The keeper-batter will miss the tournament due to the high-grade viral fever.

Bangladesh will open their campaign against Sri Lanka on 31st August in Pallekele. The team travelled to the island nation on 27th August but Litton Das didn’t travel with the team due to a fever. The keeper batter then was slated to travel the next day but had even more high-grade fever. 

Litton Das then was expected to travel directly to Pakistan ahead of Bangladesh’s second game against Afghanistan on 3rd September. But his fever hasn’t reduced and therefore he has been deemed unfit to play in the Asia Cup 2023 by the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) medical team. 

In his place, Bangladesh has named wicketkeeper-batter Anamul Haque Bijoy as his replacement. The 30-year-old will be joining the team in Sri Lanka soon. This will also be a comeback series for him as he last played in December last year in a home series against India.

Read Also: IND vs PAK: India playing 11 for the game against Pakistan in the ICC World Cup Prediction

Speaking about the development Chairman of the National Selection Panel, Minhajul Abedin explained the reason behind selecting Anamul. He explained: 

“He (Anamul) has been in the runs in domestic cricket and we have continued to monitor him in the Bangladesh Tigers programme. He was always in our consideration. Due to Litton’s unavailability, we needed a top-order batter who could keep wicket and Anamul got the nod.”

Litton Das getting ruled out of the Asia Cup 2023 is however not the only blow Bangladesh has faced. Pacer Ebadot Hossain was ruled out of the Asia Cup due to a knee injury. Apart from this Tamim Iqbal also has been ruled out due to a back injury. 

Asia Cup 2023: Bangladesh squad for the Asia Cup 2023 

Asia Cup 2023

Here’s Bangladesh’s squad for the Asia Cup 2023:  

Shakib Al Hasan (Captain), Najmul Hossain Shanto, Tawhid Hridoy, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain Dhrubo, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Nasum Ahmed, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Naim Sheikh, Shamim Hossain, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Anamul Haque Bijoy