India vs Bangladesh: 2nd Test | Day 2| Review, Scorecard.
India vs Bangladesh: 2nd Test | Day 2

India vs Bangladesh 2nd Test: A brilliant knock from Rishabh Pant and Shreyas Iyer pushed India into the driving seat with an 87 runs lead. Pant is one of the best Wicket Keeper batsmen, if not the best right now across the globe in red ball cricket. You can remember only a few batsmen who play the spinners and frustrate pacers as he does.

Shakib Al Hasan and Taijul Islam took 4-4 wickets whereas Taskin and Mehidy Hasan got 1 each. a balanced day for both the teams but India would be the happier side. Without wasting any further time, let’s jump right into the Day 2 review:

India vs Bangladesh: 2nd Test | Day 2 | Review

Coming at the beginning, Taijul Islam restricted India from getting off to a good start by eliminating the top three batsmen right away. He was flawless with his lengths, pulling them forward without attacking. The pitch was at its best on the first day and is working now. So the batsmen didn’t trust it to take risks. Virat Kohli was unable to turn a strong start into a significant score.

Pant walked out after Bangladesh had taken three early wickets with excellent bowling, but the fielding side was already retreating. It was 48 for 3 in Chattogram and 72 for 3 here, and both times Pant started his innings with a long-on and deep midwicket in place. Iyer joins him after Kohli’s dismissal.

India vs Bangladesh: 2nd Test | Day 2| Review, Scorecard.
Taskin Ahmed is pumped after Taking Virat down early after lunch

Bangladesh took three wickets for 67 runs in the first session of day two. But the second session was dry for them where Pant and Iyer scored 140. Pant scored 93 off 104, which is his sixth dismissal in the 90s and one more than his five Test hundreds. The only batter left with at least five hundreds who has also scored more nineties than hundreds is Rishabh. Iyer slipped in the 80s for the second time in this series despite having a strike rate of 82.85. Following their union at 94 for 4, they added 159 runs in 30.2 overs.

Pant now has 55 sixes in Test cricket, which ranks him joint-seventh among Indian batters. After tea, he proceeded on 86, but he stopped searching for sixes. Perhaps it was related to his five prior dismissals in the 90s. The cautious approach didn’t succeed as he was caught off guard by Mehidy for the second time in this series. When it was on the inside edge last time, it is now on the outside edge.

Iyer was somewhat more cautious than his buddy. Bangladesh attempted to bounce him, but he hooked with freedom. He was just as brutal against spin as Pant, particularly when he dribbled into the crease and produced back-foot shots.  He was excellent at the sweep as well, but he ultimately decided to take one of Shakib’s straight balls, and the low bounce hit his pads in front of the stumps. The final three wickets were then taken for 43 runs by Shakib and Taijul.

Bangladesh bundle out India at 314 and currently, Najmul Shanto and Zakir Hasan are standing unbeaten as Bangladesh’s score read at 7/0 at stumps. The hosts trail by 80 runs.

India vs Bangladesh: 2nd Test | Day 2| Scorecard

Bangladesh 1st Innings -227/10

Najmul Hossain Shanto lbw b Ashwin2457773042.10
Zakir Hasan c Rahul b Unadkat1534711044.11
Mominul Haque c Pant b Ashwin8415725112153.50
Shakib Al Hasan (c)c Pujara b Yadav1639481141.02
Mushfiqur Rahim c Pant b Unadkat2646635056.52
Litton Das c Rahul b Ashwin2526342196.15
Mehidy Hasan Miraz c Pant b Yadav1551693029.41
Nurul Hasan lbw b Yadav613130046.15
Taskin Ahmed c Mohammed Siraj b Yadav11622006.25
Taijul Islam not out42710200.00
Khaled Ahmed c Unadkat b Ashwin023000.00
Mohammed Siraj913904.33
Umesh Yadav1542541.66
Jaydev Unadkat1625023.12
Ravichandran Ashwin21.537143.25
Axar Patel1233202.66

India 1st Innings -314/10

KL Rahul (c)lbw b Taijul Islam10451022.22
Shubman Gill lbw b Taijul Islam20391151.28
Cheteshwar Pujara c Mominul Haque b Taijul Islam24552043.63
Virat Kohli c Nurul Hasan b Taskin Ahmed24733032.87
Rishabh Pant c Nurul Hasan b Mehidy Hasan Miraz931047589.42
Shreyas Iyer lbw b Shakib Al Hasan8710510282.85
Axar Patel c Najmul Hossain Shanto b Shakib Al Hasan4111036.36
Ravichandran Ashwin lbw b Shakib Al Hasan12302040.00
Jaydev Unadkat not out14322043.75
Umesh Yadav c Litton Das b Taijul Islam141330107.69
Mohammed Siraj st Nurul Hasan b Shakib Al Hasan7151046.66
Taskin Ahmed1525813.86
Shakib Al Hasan19.337944.05
Khaled Ahmed1014104.10
Taijul Islam2537442.96
Mehidy Hasan Miraz1726113.58

Bangladesh 2nd Innings – 7/0

Najmul Hossain Shanto not out5251020.00
Zakir Hasan not out2110018.18
Umesh Yadav21402.00
Ravichandran Ashwin31301.00
Jaydev Unadkat11000.00

Visit ICC CRICKET SCHEDULE for more cricketing updates.